DUI Driver’s License Suspension
If you have been charged with a DUI, the potential for the loss of your driving privileges is one of your biggest concerns. At Anfuso Law, P.C., we understand how important it is to maintain your driving privileges. We understand that loss of driving privileges impacts your ability to work and your home life. If you have been charged with a DUI, even if the charge is dismissed, your license still may be suspended by the Oregon DMV under Oregon’s Implied Consent Law.
If you have taken and failed a breath test or refused to submit to a breath, blood or urine test, your license will be suspended for a period ranging from 90 days – 3 years by the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you don’t request a hearing in writing within 10 days of your arrest, your license is AUTOMATICALLY suspended 30 days after your arrest. If your license is subject to suspension by the DMV call today to preserve your rights.
Implied Consent Hearings
If you were charged with DUI, you likely received a notice of intent to suspend your driving privileges from the officer who arrested you. You are entitled to administrative review prior to your license being suspended.
An Implied Consent Hearing is an administrative proceeding conducted by an administrative law judge of the Office of Administrative Hearings. The purpose of the hearing is to determine whether the suspension is valid under all of the applicable statutes and administrative rules. The officer who arrested you must appear at the hearing and provide evidence that there was reason to believe you were driving under the influence of intoxicants, and that either the officer performed the breath test properly or that you refused the test.
If your license has been suspended by the DMV because of a DUI conviction or charge, you may be eligible for a hardship permit. To qualify, you will have to install an ignition interlock device and hold an SR-22 insurance policy. A hardship permit allows you to drive on a limited basis. With a hardship permit you may be able to:
- Drive to and from work;
- Drive on the job;
- Seek employment;
- Take part in an alcohol or drug rehabilitation program;
- Get medical treatment required on a regular basis.
If you failed or refused to submit to a breath test and received a notice that your license will be suspended, you should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Anfuso Law, P.C. right away to preserve all of your rights. FREE consultation: Call 503-946-3646
Anfuso Law, P.C. provides DUI defense and Portland DUI attorney services for Portland OR, Clackamas, Oregon City, Gresham, Hillsboro, and Beaverton.